University System of Georgia


The University System of Georgia (USG) is a part of the community in each of Georgia’s 159 counties and provides services across the state. The USG is composed of 26 higher education institutions including four research universities, four comprehensive universities, nine state universities and nine state colleges. It also includes the Georgia Public Library Service, which encompasses approximately 389 facilities within the 61 library systems throughout the State of Georgia. Additionally, the USG includes the Georgia Archives which identifies, collects, manages, preserves and provides access to records and information about Georgia.

Degrees, Majors and Rankings
The University System of Georgia’s institutions conferred a total of 72,929 degrees in fiscal year 2021, including 44,040 bachelor’s, 14,785 master’s and 1,822 doctorate degrees.

The majority of baccalaureate-level degrees awarded within the University System of Georgia are in the fields of business, psychology, education and nursing.

Georgia is one of only three states with two or more institutions in the U.S. News 2021 Top 20 Public National Universities. Georgia Tech is ranked No. 10 on the list and the University of Georgia is No. 16.