Learning resources

College - Adult
Online class

About CISA

The Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) certification is a globally recognized designation that signifies expertise in information system audit, control, and security. The CISA certification is administered by ISACA, a nonprofit, independent association that provides guidance in the latest developments in IS audit, assurance, security, risk, and privacy. Earning the CISA designation is a rigorous process that requires passing an exam and meeting experience and ethical requirements.

CISA certified professionals are in high demand by employers across industries. The certification is valuable for those seeking to build their career in auditing and information security. The CISA credential can help candidates stand out in a competitive job market and advance their career.

Learning CISA

The CISA exam tests candidates on five core domains:

  • The Process of Auditing Information Systems
  • Governance and Management of IT
  • Information Systems Acquisition, Development, and Implementation
  • Information Systems Operations, Maintenance, and Support
  • Protection of Information Assets

To be eligible for the CISA exam, candidates must have at least four years of experience in two or more of the five core domains. Candidates can qualify for the exam through work experience or education.

The CISA exam is a four-hour, computer-based test. It consists of 150 multiple-choice questions. Candidates must score at least 450 out of 800 possible points to pass the exam.

Successful completion of the CISA exam gives candidates the right to use the CISA designation. The designation is valid for three years. Candidates must complete 120 hours of continuing professional education (CPE) during each three-year period to maintain their CISA designation.